Winners Emerge At The Zonal Stage Of The 4th Edition of NILDS-FCT Secondary Schools Quiz Competition.

  • Thursday January 24, 2019 16:55 PM
  • NILS Press Corps

The zonal stage of the 4th Edition of the NILDS-FCT Senior Secondary Schools Quiz Competition on the legislature and democracy took place on Thursday, January 24, 2019, with about 90 participating schools drawn from a list of registered public and private Schools under the watch of the Federal Capital Territory Secondary Education Board (SEB).

The annual Competition which has been widely applauded is an initiative of the National Institute for Legislative and Democratic Studies (NILDS), National Assembly, aimed at inculcating the processes and procedures of the legislature in a democracy and governance in young Nigerians. In addition, the main objective of the Competition is to provide continued education on legislative institutions as well as further expand the knowledge of students and the youths on the history, practice and processes of the legislature.

This first stage of the Quiz Competition held simultaneously across 8 zones of the FCT. These include Abaji, Kwali, Gwagwalada, Kuje, Bwari, Municipal (AMAC North, AMAC East and Central) zones. Winners from the zonal stage would compete at the grand finale billed to hold on the 28th of January, 2019.

Recall that this will be the 4th edition of the Competition which started in 2016. The maiden edition was won by the School for the Gifted, Gwagwalada. The trophy for the second edition was lifted by Government Day Secondary School, Karu, and the 3rd edition of the Quiz Competition was won by Government Secondary School, Shere of Bwari zone.

During presentation of trophies and prizes to the winners of the 3rd edition of the Competition, the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki lauded the initiative charged the organizers of the Competition not to restrict participation in the Competition to the schools in the FCT alone, but to give it a national outlook.

Sequel to this task, the NILDS Management, led by the visionary Director General, Prof. Ladi Hamalai pragmatically engaged the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) and SEB as partners to facilitate the 4th edition of the Competition.

It is expected that in the nearest future, schools across the country would be invited to participate in the Quiz Competition, with a view to encourage understanding of the workings of the legislature and democratic governance amongst youths.

Meanwhile, in 2019, zonal stage, GDSS, Karshi came tops from the AMAC East zone, AMAC North produced GSS Kabusa as the winner while at AMAC Central, ADSS, Maitama won the competition. The Louisville Girls secondary school carried the day at the Gwagwalada zone, while JC Best Schools was produced as winner in Bwari zone. From the Kuje Zone, School for the Gifted Gwagwalada topped the table, Abaji zone produced Thaqafatul Islamiyya School as winner and Kwali zone had GSS Dangara as winner.
The winners from the eight zones are expected to compete at the grand finale on Monday, 28th January, 2019 at the National Assembly.