NILS-UNIBEN Postgraduate School Conducts 3rd Matriculation and Fellowship Award Ceremony

  • Posted on

    Friday October 2017

  • Posted at

    08:43 AM


The National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS) has continued to live up to the expectations of its initiators and affiliates by effectively discharging its scope of mandate. To sustain this momentum, the Institute has organized the third NILS-UNIBEN postgraduate programme matriculation ceremony.

The event which held at the National Assembly complex in Abuja on Thursday, October 12, 2017 has been described as a major mile stone by the 8th National Assembly in its relentless effort to reposition the legislature through education, capacity building and human resource development, critical for service delivery and growth of democracy in Nigeria.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives and Alternate Chairman of NILS Governing Council, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Dogara at the event commended the organizers of the event for the increasing popularity of the programme as attested to by growing numbers of enrollment application especially by staff of the National Assembly. He stated that “a critical success of the NILS-UNIBEN programme is that it is designed to meet the specific needs of the legislature by focusing on all areas of legislative operations, processes and procedures.

He further extolled the NILS-UNIBEN partnership for steadily contributing to boost the intellectual and technical capacity of the legislature, adding that progressively expanding and strengthening the technical capacity of legislative staff and aides remains a key component of the legislative agenda of the 8th House of Representatives.

The Director General of the National Institute for Legislative Studies, Prof. Ladi Hamalai who oversaw the decoration of 5 eminent awardees as fellows of the Institute seized the occasion to announce that more courses have been designed to further enrich the scope, quality and acceptance of the programme. Some of the new courses include: Masters in Party Politics and Election management, Masters in Constitutionalism and Constitutional development among others.

She further canvassed for the speedy completion of the Institute’s permanent site with an auditorium of 1000 sitting capacity, in the hope that the complex would host the first convocation ceremony of the Institute in 2018.

The awardees at the event were Senator Joseph Wayas, Senate President in the second republic (1979-1983), Senator Ken Nnamani, Former President of the Senate (2005-2007), Rt. Hon. Ghali Na’Abba, Former Speaker of the House of Representatives (1999-2003), Rt. Hon Aminu Bello Masari, former Speaker of the House of Representatives (2003-2007) and current Governor of Kastina State as well as Senator (Dr.) Ibrahim Mantu, Former Deputy President of the Senate (2001-2007).